Exploring the Forbidden City: Stoke-On-Trent

Every time I visit the Stoke-on-Trent, either it is extremely cold or rainy. However the weather was super nice one day( I don’t remember which day it was) last week! I managed to take some photos around the historical Wedgwood Institute building. It was a bit sad that everything was pretty much closed, however, each time after visiting this city, I get a lot of inspirations.

There was the Royal Doulton’s factory, empty, abandoned as now it is the part of the WWRD group. there was a huge stone block in front of the gate and I think it tells a lot of today’s city, how it was nourishing in the old times.

My research is specifically looking at historical Staffordshire earthenware figurines in Royal College of Art, and I think this experience in this summer would take me to think about a lot more in terms of contents-wise. It would be interesting to see how it was a busy town for producing ceramics and how it became now. How am I going to interpret? I think this will take a long time to answer. Please bear with me with this and I will invite you to come a long to my show when I feel it is ready.